Bonner, Fortner sweep AP All-SEC women's awards

ATLANTA (AP) - DeWanna Bonner is a unanimous choice as player of the year on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team after leading the Tigers to their first league championship in 20 years and a Number 2 seed in the NCAA tournament.

That wasn't the only award claimed by Auburn on Tuesday.

Nell Fortner was an overwhelming pick for coach of the year, adding an SEC title to a list of accomplishments that already included a Big Ten championship at Purdue and an Olympic gold medal at the 2000 Sydney Games.

Arkansas freshman Ceira Ricketts was named newcomer of the year.

Bonner was joined on the first team by teammate Whitney Boddie, Vanderbilt's Christian Wirth, LSU's Allison Hightower and Florida's Sha Brooks.

The second team included Florida's Marshae Dotson, Mississippi State's Alexis Rack, Mississippi's Bianca Thomas, Georgia's Ashley Houts, and Kentucky's Dunlap.

Ricketts received an honorable mention nod in addition to her newcomer of the year award.

The 5-9 Arkansas guard led the SEC in steals (2.5) and ranked among the top 10 in scoring (12.8) and assists (3.9).

The 13th annual AP All-SEC team was selected by a regional media panel.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)