Governor declares state of emergency for 11 counties

MONTGOMERY - Governor Bob Riley on Monday declared a state of emergency for 11 counties due to severe weather over the past few days.

Numerous homes and businesses have suffered damage and more severe weather is expected in the state later this week.

By declaring a state of emergency, the Governor authorizes the Alabama Emergency Management Agency to assist communities, make the appropriate assessments of damage and seek state and federal assistance for the affected areas.

"We will offer any and all assistance that is available to Alabamians who have suffered damage," said Governor Riley.

The affected counties are:  Baldwin, Clarke, Covington, Coffee, Crenshaw, Dale, Elmore, Geneva, Houston, Henry, and Washington.

Alabama EMA Director Brock Long, Executive Officer Jeff Byard and Recovery Section Chief Benjie Abbott will be visiting emergency management offices in several counties on Tuesday, March:

  • 9:00am, Covington County EMA, 300 West Watson Street, Andalusia, Alabama
  • 11:00am, Geneva County EMA, 200 S. Commerce, Geneva, Alabama
  • 2:00pm, Houston County EMA, 114 North Oates, Dothan, Alabama

Additional rainfall forecast for Tuesday and Wednesday has the potential to exacerbate damage levels in the state.  Alabama EMA is prepared to extend assistance as needed.

Information Courtesy: Governor Bob Riley's office