Alabama Senate OKs 4 trustees to UA board

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - The Alabama Senate has approved four trustees for the University of Alabama System.

The Senate voted 30-0 Tuesday to approve the reappointment of James Wilson III of Montgomery and new appointments for Davis Malone of Dothan, William Britt Sexton of Decatur, and Ronald Gray of Huntsville.

The Senate acted a few hours after the Senate Confirmations Committee approved the four without any dissent.

The board of the University of Alabama System is a self-perpetuating board that chooses its own members, subject to approval by the Senate.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)