NASCAR Hall of Fame Announces Nominees

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (July 2, 2009) - The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR) announced today a history-rich list of 25 nominees for the inaugural NASCAR Hall of Fame induction class. From that list, five inductees will be chosen via a process that includes a nationwide fan vote on NASCAR.COM; the inductees will be announced in October and honored next May at the new Hall of Fame facility in Charlotte, N.C.

Following are the 25 individuals who have been nominated:

  • Bobby Allison, 1983 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races
  • Buck Baker, the first driver to win consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
  • Red Byron, first NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, in 1949
  • Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series
  • Dale Earnhardt, won record seven NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
  • Richie Evans, nine-time NASCAR Modified champion
  • Tim Flock, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
  • Bill France Jr., NASCAR president, chairman and CEO (1972-2003)
  • Bill France Sr., NASCAR founder and first president (1948-1972)
  • Rick Hendrick, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series
  • Ned Jarrett, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
  • Junior Johnson, 50 wins as a driver, 132 wins and six championships as an owner
  • Bud Moore, 63 wins and two NASCAR Sprint Cup titles as a car owner
  • Raymond Parks, NASCAR's first champion car owner
  • Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
  • David Pearson, 105 victories and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
  • Lee Petty, winner of the first Daytona 500 and first three-time series champion
  • Richard Petty, 200 wins and seven NASCAR Sprint Cup titles -- both records
  • Fireball Roberts, won 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup races, including the 1962 Daytona 500
  • Herb Thomas, first two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, 1951 and '53
  • Curtis Turner, first to win Daytona 500, Southern 500, Coca-Cola 600 in same year
  • Darrell Waltrip, winner of 84 races and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
  • Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
  • Glen Wood, as driver, laid foundation for Wood Brothers' future team success
  • Cale Yarborough, winner of three consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup titles, 1976-78

Information supplied by NASCAR.