All-Star Classic to air for national audience

MOBILE , AL - The Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic is set for a national audience. Game officials made the announcement Thursday that this year's All-Star Classic, featuring 74 of the best senior collegiate prospects from both states, will be nationally-televised live by VERSUS, the basic cable sports network.

The game has a potential audience in 70 million homes nationwide.

This year's contest, set for Saturday, December 12, will kickoff at 12:30 p.m. CST in Mobile's Ladd-Peebles Stadium.

"We look forward to the opportunity to showcase this historic competition featuring remarkable high school athletes to a national audience," said Jeff Goldberg, Vice President of Programming for VERSUS.

The Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic is a premier annual football recruiting talent showcase between two teams representing two states rich in football tradition.  Viewers will not only be able to see the best football talent these two states have to offer, but also get  a preview into the next generation of major college stars.

The 37-member rosters of top collegiate prospects that will represent Alabama and Mississippi in the 2009 contest were announced earlier this month, and include 29 players who have already made verbal commitments to attend Southeastern Conference and other major schools in 2010.

Over the past 21 years, the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic has built an impressive legacy of featuring the best home-grown talent from Alabama and Mississippi -- players who have gone on to enjoy tremendous success at both the NCAA and NFL levels. A total of 17 first-round NFL Draft picks and 116 overall NFL draftees have played in the contest, including Antonio Langham, Deuce McAllister, Jason Campbell, John Copeland, Cadillac Williams, Steve McNair, Willie Anderson, JaMarcus Russell and Andre Smith, the sixth overall pick of the 2009 NFL Draft.               

Currently, over 80 former All-Star Classic players are on the football rosters of the 12 Southeastern Conference schools, including pre-season All-SEC selections Julio Jones and Rolando McClain of Alabama, Antonio Coleman of Auburn, Anthony Dixon of Mississippi State and John Jerry of Ole Miss.