Farm disaster declared for all but 1 Ala. county

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared a disaster designation for 66 of Alabama's 67 counties because of crop losses caused by heavy rains and flooding.

The designation will make financial assistance available to farmers who suffered crop losses.

The designation covers every county in the state, except Coosa. But Agriculture Department officials said Coosa County will be eligible for assistance because it's adjacent to counties with disaster declarations.

Congressman Bobby Bright of Montgomery praised federal agriculture officials for acting quickly on the disaster declaration.

Heavy rains bothered farmers throughout the year, particularly during harvest in the fall.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)