12 Ala. counties granted disaster aid

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - Twelve Alabama counties have been approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency for disaster aid.

The funds will help the areas recover from severe storms and flooding between Dec. 12-18.

FEMA notified Alabama Gov. Bob Riley Thursday that disaster aid had been approved for Barbour, Butler, Clarke, Coffee, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Escambia, Geneva, Henry and Pike.

The disaster declaration will make funding available to state and eligible local governments and some nonprofit organizations for emergency work to repair storm damage.

Riley said the disaster declaration would speed up recovery efforts in the affected counties.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)