Auburn added to Hooters Tour

LONGS, SC - The National Golf Association's Hooters Professional Golf Tour announced Wednesday the addition of The Auburn University Club in Auburn to its 2010 schedule.

The Auburn University Club has been a Stage 1 and/or pre-qualifying site for PGA Tour Qualifying School three of the last four years.

"The #1 goal of The Hooters Tour has always been, and always will be to help professional golfers achieve their dream of playing on The PGA Tour," said Robin L. Waters, Hooters Tour President. "Playing Q-School courses like The Auburn University Club will provide invaluable experience to our players. We are ecstatic that they have provided us with this opportunity."

The Auburn University Club is an 18-hole, 7,326 yard championship golf course situated on 225 acres of beautiful rolling hills and woodlands.

Designed by Bill Bergin in 1999, the course surrounds the 25-acre Yarbrough Lake and is partly bordered by Saugahatchee Creek. The course played host to the NCAA Men's East Regional (2003), is the host site for The Derby (one of the premier women's college golf tournaments in the country, as well as host site of PGA TOUR Q-School First Stage (2007-Present).

The 2010 season will have stops at Golden Hills Golf & Turf Club (Host course of US Women's Mid-Amateur), Rock Barn Golf & Spa (Host to the Champions Tour Greater Hickory Classic 2003-present), Cherry Blossom GC (Golfweek #1 in KY 5 years running), McCormick, SC (Consistently voted best event by players), The Auburn University Club (Host site of PGA Tour Q-School 2007-Present as well as the home course for Auburn University men's and women's golf teams), Callaway Gardens (Host to the PGA Tour's Buick Challenge for 12 years as well as Stage 2 of PGA Tour Q-School 2008-present) as well as a stop at Mount Vintage Plantation (Host to the LPGA Tour's Asahi Ryokuken International Championship 2001-2004).

This will be the first stop in the Auburn area since the city hosted The Auburn-Opelika Classic from 2005-2007 at Auburn Links at Mill Creek. Past champions include current PGA Tour players Kevin Streelman (2007) and Chris Stroud (2005).  The 2010 Championship will be contested July 26-August 1 at the heralded Auburn University Club.