Alabama Music Hall of Fame Ceremony in Montgomery

By Bob Howell - WSFA 12 News Anchor

(Montgomery) The Alabama Music Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Awards Banquet will be held in Montgomery March 25, 2010. It's one of the most elegant and exciting events staged in Alabama.

It celebrates this state's incredibly diverse music heritage, and is a positive force bringing together Alabamians from all phases of music, whether it is Rock, Country, Rhythm & Blues, Gospel, Country and Western, Opera, Classical or Contemporary.

WSFA 12 News Anchor Bob Howell will serve as the announcer for the evening.

Performing at this years event will be; Eddie Levert, The Blind Boys of Alabama, Mac Davis, ARS, Jamey Johnson, Mac McAnally, Bobby Denton and Percy Sledge This year's event will be held at the Montgomery Convention Center, Montgomery, AL, located next to our Host Hotel the Renaissance Hotel and Spa.

During this event, five individuals will be inducted into the Alabama Music Hall of Fame, a variety of Contemporary Achievement awards given and music enjoyed from some of the best-known entertainers in the world.

The inductees and their categories are:

Performing Artist/Group Award - The Blind Boys of Alabama and Eddie Levert, (the lead singer of the O'Jays.)

The Blind Boys of Alabama trace their heritage to 1939 at the Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind in Talladega. The Grammy-winning a capella vocalists continue to influence the music world. Just last fall, they released a duets album with several major acts including Rock and Roll Hall of Famers Bonnie Raitt and Solomon Burke and others. Clarence Fountain is the only original member still living, but he has retired from the road, while other members carry on the tradition. They went 58 years before winning their first Grammy, but then picked up the award every year between 2002 and 2005. They have been inducted into the Gospel Hall of Fame.

Jerry Wexler Award - Former Muscle Shoals recording artist Mac Davis, of Los Angeles, California. Mac Davis is a songwriter who found success as a recording artist with Rick Hall as his producer at Fame in Muscle Shoals. Among their hits were "Baby, Don't Get Hooked On Me," "Stop And Smell The Roses," Texas In My Rear View Mirror" and "Hooked on Music." In 1974, Davis was named the Academy of Country Music's Entertainer of the Year.

Arthur Alexander Songwriter's Award - Singer/songwriter Mac McAnally, of Sheffield. Mac McAnally, a Red Bay native who grew up in Belmont, Mississippi, has won numerous awards for his songwriting. He writes and tours with Jimmy Buffett, whom he also produces. He was nominated for a 2010 Grammy Award for the best country collaboration with vocals for his duet with Kenny Chesney on "Down The Road."

Music creator Award - Dothan songwriter/record producer Buddy Buie and Florence session musician Jerry Carrigan

Entertainment Industry Award - Elba Native, record producer/musician Paul Hornsby

John Herbert Orr Pioneer Award - The late Muscle Shoals musician Terry Thompson and singer/Colbert-Lauderdale County State Senator Bobby Denton.

Governor's Award - B. A. Nugent, of Point Clear.

Music Industry Award - Integrity, Inc. chief executive officer Michael Coleman, of Mobile.

Sam Phillips Innovator's Award - Concert promoter Tony Ruffino, of Birmingham.

Media award - Original MTV veejay Alan Hunter, of Birmingham.