Ala. gets $2.8 million for emergency road repairs

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WSFA) - The U.S. Department of Transportation is awarding nearly $3 million to Alabama in emergency relief funds to repair federal roads.

The funds will go to 16 counties, Congressman Bobby Bright announced Wednesday.

The Alabama Department of Transportation will receive the funds to repair roads and bridges damaged during flooding in May and December of 2009.

Counties in the Second District affected by these disasters are Autauga, Bullock, Elmore, and Montgomery counties (for May disaster) and Barbour, Coffee, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Geneva, Henry, and Houston counties (for December disaster), Bright's office reported.

"This is welcome news for counties across south Alabama," Bright said.  "We have experienced significant rain and flooding over the last year and communities are still waiting for the funds for to repair damaged infrastructure.  It is important to make these repairs as quickly as possible so counties can make their roads safer for motorists and prepare for potential future flooding."

The funds are administered through the Federal Highway Administration and are a part of DOT's Emergency Relief (ER) program. Eligible repair work includes emergency repairs needed to restore essential traffic, minimize the extent of damage, or protect the remaining facilities as well as permanent repairs necessary to restore the highway to its pre-disaster condition.

Counties damaged in the May disaster will receive $729,000, while counties designated in the December disaster will receive $2,100,000.

Baldwin, Escambia, and Mobile counties were also affected by the December flooding.

©2010 WSFA. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.