2nd ranked Huntingdon gets NCAA championship invite

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - For the sixth consecutive season, the No. 2 ranked Huntingdon men's golf team has earned an invitation to compete in the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championship, when the NCAA Men's Golf Committee announced the teams and individuals that will participate in the 2010 field on Monday.

The championships will be held May 11-14, at the Hershey Links and Hershey Country Club, in Hershey, Pennsylvania. The championships will be hosted by Elizabethtown College.

The Hawks, who earned on of seven Pool B berths, enter the 2010 Tournament ranked second in the Golf World/Nike Division III Men's Golf Coaches' Poll and Golfstat poll. As a team, Huntingdon is currently second in the nation in par-5 scoring and fourth in par-4 scoring in the country.

Oglethorpe University was four shots down entering the final day and shot a 289 to win its first NCAA Division III Men's Golf National Championship last year. Olafur Loftson, Oglethorpe, took home the top individual honors. The championships were played at the PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie, Florida and hosted by Methodist University.

A total of 190 participants will compete at the 2010 championships. Twenty-seven conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the championships. Seven teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final three berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The top five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Golf Championships, log on to NCAA.com. Highlights of the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships will be shown on CBS at 4 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, June 19. The CBS seasonal show will feature highlights of 17 different NCAA championships that took place during the spring.

INFORMATION SOURCE: Huntingdon Athletics Department