AU's Hunter Morris named Golden Spikes Semifinalist

Hunter Morris
Hunter Morris

AUBURN, AL – Hunter Morris was named a semifinalist for the 2010 Golden Spikes Award, it was announced on Tuesday by USA Baseball. Morris is one of 30 players to be named a semifinalist.

Already named the 2010 Southeastern Conference Player of the Year and placed on the Dick Howser Trophy semifinalist list, Morris helped lead Auburn to a 40-19 record and a SEC Western Division Championship.

Heading into this weekend's NCAA Regionals he leads the SEC in slugging percentage (.752), hits (98), home runs (21) and total bases (188), is third in batting average (.392) and triples (five), fourth with 61 runs scored and 17 doubles and eighth in on base percentage.

Morris is one of three players from the SEC named a semifinalist, joining Zach Cox of Arkansas and Drew Pomeranz of Ole Miss.

For the third year in a row, will be the online home for the award. The Web site features content devoted exclusively to the GAS, including news, voting history, past-winner photo galleries and photographs and video highlights for the 2010 semifinalists. Fans can follow online as the list of 30 players is narrowed to five finalists on Tuesday, June 8, en route to the announcement of this year's winner on Tuesday, July 13.

The 2010 GSA will be awarded live at Major League Baseball's All-Star FanFest in Anaheim, Calif., as part of a production by MBL and MLBAM.

In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the most prestigious award in amateur baseball, and it will follow the same model again in 2010. After accepting nominations from sports information directors across the country, a committee voted to determine the 30 semifinalists. The names of the 30 semifinalists will now be forwarded to a group of nearly 200 voters which will select the five finalists and the eventual winner. Beginning today fans will also be able to vote on the 2010 GSA by visiting and selecting their favorite amateur player.

Photo Credit: Auburn University/Todd Van Emst

INFORMATION SOURCE: Auburn University Athletics