Bama's Ingram, Jones named to Playboy All-America Team

Alabama junior tailback Mark Ingram and junior wide receiver Julio Jones were named to the 2010 Playboy Preseason All-America Team. This is the second straight year on the team for Jones as he was also a selection in 2009. Senior quarterback Greg McElroy was named the winner of the Anson Mount Scholar-Athlete Award by the same publication. Playboy will send a check for $5,000 to the University of Alabama's general scholarship fund in McElroy's name.

Ingram was Alabama's first Heisman Trophy winner in 2009 as he helped lead the Crimson Tide to the school's 13th national championship. He set the school record with 1,658 yards rushing and added 20 total touchdowns. Jones has led UA in receiving in each of his two seasons at the Capstone. Known as an outstanding all-around player who also excels as a blocker and a returner, Jones has totaled 1,520 yards with eight touchdowns over the last two seasons.

McElroy was the signal caller for Alabama's perfect season in 2009 and has not lost a game as a starting quarterback since the eighth grade. He was the MVP of the SEC Championship game against Florida last December and finished the season with 2,508 passing yards with 17 touchdowns and just four interceptions. The Texas native graduated in the summer of 2009 with a 3.86 GPA in business marketing and is now pursuing a master's degree. McElroy is currently in the process of preparing his application for a Rhodes Scholarship.

Jones, Javier Arenas and Rolando McClain were selected as Playboy Preseason All-Americans in 2009. Andre Smith was on the 2008 team and prior to that, Roman Harper was recognized as part of the prestigious group in 2005.

This year marks the 54th year of the Playboy All-America Team, the direct descendent of the original All-America as conceived by Walter Camp back in the 1890's. Camp, then Grantland Rice, then a number of other editors and writers selected an All-America team for Collier's Magazine until Collier's went out of business in 1956. An enterprising Hugh Hefner, who had just started Playboy Magazine in 1953, realized a great college football tradition was about to disappear. He hired Collier's writer Francis Wallace who then selected the team for Playboy in 1957. Anson Mount took over the next year and became the most successful college football prognosticator over the next 29 years. Gary Cole followed Mount when he passed away in 1986 and, with the help of football guru Gil Brandt, has been selecting the team and predicting Playboy's Top 25 ever since.

Information: UA media relations