Greg McElroy named to 2010 Davey O'Brien Watch List

Greg McElroy practices during the 2009 Chick-fil-A Bowl
Greg McElroy practices during the 2009 Chick-fil-A Bowl

FORT WORTH, TX - The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced the 2010 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Watch List on Wednesday. Alabama senior signal-caller Greg McElroy was one of the 30 quarterbacks selected to the list.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of The O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 30 of the nation's top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2010 college football season.

In his first season as the starting quarterback for Alabama, McElroy paced the Crimson Tide to a perfect 14-0 season which culminated in the 13th national championship in program history. The Southlake, Texas native tossed 17 touchdowns, which ranked as the second most in a single season in school history. He threw for 2,508 and only was picked off four times, connecting on 60.9 percent of his passes.

The 2009 Southeastern Conference Championship Game MVP has not lost a game while starting at quarterback since the eighth grade and is 30-0, dating back to his senior year at high school. McElroy posted the lowest interception rate in school history and his 2,508 yards rank third all-time in a single season.

The 2010 O'Brien Watch List features 13 seniors, 13 juniors and four sophomores. The ACC and Big 12 lead all conferences with five candidates each on the list. The Pac-10 is represented by four players. McElroy joins Ryan Mallett of Arkansas as the only quarterbacks selected from the SEC to the initial watch list.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to be awarded The O'Brien. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 25. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 22. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 9. 

The 34th Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 21, 2011 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

INFORMATION SOURCE: University of Alabama Athletics