UA's Green earns preseason All-SEC honor; Tide now third in the West

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. The University of Alabama men's basketball team was picked to finish third in the Southeastern Conference Western Division while in the annual preseason media poll released Monday by the league office.

The Crimson Tide returns eight players from last year's squad that finished 17-15 and in fourth place in the SEC Western Division. Alabama earned 82 total points in the voting, falling just two points shy of second-place Mississippi's 84 total points and two first-place votes. Mississippi State earned  118 total points including 18 first-place votes as the projected favorite in the West. The Florida Gators were picked as the favorites in the East as well as overall SEC Champions.

Additionally, Crimson Tide forward JaMychal Green garnered preseason All-SEC Second Team honors. The 6-8, 228-pound junior from Montgomery, Ala.,  averaged 14.1 points and 7.2 rebounds last season for the Tide and looks to make a huge contribution in head coach Anthony Grant's second year. Green enters the season third among active SEC players in double-doubles with 13 the past two seasons and earned SEC All-Freshman honors in 2008-09.

The Tide will continue its preseason practices and preparations leading up to the 2010-11 team's debut on Nov. 2 in an exhibition contest against Talladega College. The regular season tips off on Nov. 12 when Florida A&M opens the home schedule.

SEC Preseason Media Poll (First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

SEC Champion: Florida (8); Mississippi State (3); Kentucky (2); Tennessee (2); Georgia (1)

Eastern Division - Points

1. Florida (13) - 110

2. Kentucky (3) - 95

3. Georgia (2) - 72

4. Tennessee (2) - 71

5. Vanderbilt - 52

6. South Carolina - 20

Western Division - Points

1. Mississippi State (18) - 118

2. Mississippi (2) - 84

3. Alabama - 82

4. Arkansas - 72

5. LSU - 41

6. Auburn - 23


Brandon Knight, Kentucky, G

Travis Leslie, Georgia, G

Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt, F

Trey Thompkins, Georgia, F

Chris Warren, Mississippi, G


Kenny Boynton, Florida, G

JaMychal Green, Alabama,

Scotty Hopson, Tennessee, G

Chandler Parsons, Florida, F

Marshawn Powell, Arkansas, F

SEC Player of the Year: Trey Thompkins, Georgia