Jenkins on Preseason All-SEC basketball team; Tide picked to finish 9th

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Alabama senior forward Tierney Jenkins earned Preseason All-SEC Second Team accolades, while the Crimson Tide was picked to finish ninth in the Southeastern Conference by the media, which was announced Tuesday by the league office.

Jenkins has been a solid fixture in the Alabama lineup since arriving on campus three years ago. She led the team in both scoring and rebounding a year ago and collected an SEC-high 11 double-doubles as a junior. Jenkins also became the 22nd member of the Tide's 1,000 Point Club and broke the single-game rebounding record, which had been set over 30 years ago, by collecting 27 at Belmont on Nov. 21, 2009.

In addition to Jenkins, Alabama returns six letterwinners including seniors Katie Hancock, LaToya King and Varisia Raffington, juniors Carmen McCoy and Ericka Russell and sophomore Celiscia Farmer. The Tide also welcomes six newcomers to its roster with a pair of transfers and four freshmen. Alicia Mitcham will join the team as a junior, while Erin Hogue comes in as a redshirt sophomore. The four freshmen on this year's squad includes Alabama's first McDonald's High School All-American and No. 5 overall recruit Kaneisha Horn, the No. 65 overall signee and No. 17 guard Jasmine Robinson, the 23rd-ranked wing in the nation Khristin Lee, and the No. 13 scorer in the country last year, according to, Shafontaye Myers.

Alabama will play its lone exhibition game on Saturday, Nov. 6, when it hosts the University of Alabama in Huntsville at 2 p.m. CT. The Tide's first regular-season contest will take place on Friday, Nov. 12 against Tennessee State. The women will play the first game in a doubleheader with the men's basketball team beginning at 5 p.m. CT in Coleman Coliseum.

Preseason Media Poll

(First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

Order of Finish

1. Tennessee           202

2. Kentucky              183

3. Vanderbilt            157

4. Georgia                150

5. LSU                      147

6. Auburn                 120

7. South Carolina     84

8. Arkansas              81

9. ALABAMA            65

10. Mississippi          47

T11. Miss. St             45

T11. Florida              45

First Team

LaSondra Barrett, LSU

Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky

Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee

Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee

Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt

Second Team


Alli Smalley, Auburn

Porsha Phillips, Georgia

A'dia Mathies, Kentucky

Kelley Cain, Tennessee

SEC Champion: Tennessee (15)

Player of the Year: Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky (13)

INFORMATION SOURCE: University of Alabama Athletics