Newton named SEC 'Player of the Week' for fifth time

Newton celebrates with Auburn fans after winning Saturday's game against Georgia.
Newton celebrates with Auburn fans after winning Saturday's game against Georgia.

AUBURN, AL – Auburn junior quarterback Cam Newton and senior offensive guard Mike Berry have been honored with weekly awards by the Southeastern Conference following the Tigers' 49-31 victory over Georgia, the league office announced Monday. Newton was named Co-Offensive Player of the Week, while Berry was named the league's Offensive Lineman of the Week.

Newton accounted for four touchdowns against Georgia while leading the Tigers to their 11th win without a loss this season. He rushed 30 times for 151 yards and two touchdowns, and completed 12-of-15 passes for 148 yards and two more scores.

In the process, Newton became the first player in SEC history to pass for 2,000 yards and rush for 1,000 yards in a single season. Newton currently has 1,297 yards rushing and has thrown for 2,038 yards.

Newton, who was also named the National Player of the Week by for the fourth time, also broke the Auburn single-season record for total offense during the game, pushing his season total to 3,335 yards, and broke the school single-season scoring record, now with 108 points. He tied the Auburn single-season record for touchdown runs with 17, and pulled within one of the school single-season record for touchdown passes with 21.

Newton earned his fifth SEC Player of the Week award this season, becoming the first Auburn player to win five weekly awards in a single season.

Meanwhile, Berry became the first Auburn offensive lineman to be honored by the SEC this year. He graded out at 95 percent for the game and did not allow a quarterback sack or quarterback hurry while playing in all 73 offensive plays. He pulled and was the lead blocker on Newton's 31-yard touchdown run on Auburn's first offensive possession.

Berry helped Auburn rush for 315 yards against Georgia's defense, which entered the game ranked 13th nationally in rushing defense. The Tigers have now rushed for at least 300 yards in a school-record six consecutive games against SEC opponents.

The two honors pushed Auburn's total of SEC weekly awards to 15 this season. Auburn's winners this season include:

Arkansas State - Cam Newton (Offensive) Mississippi State - Nick Fairley (Defensive) Clemson - Josh Bynes (Defensive) South Carolina - Cam Newton (Offensive); Mike Blanc (Defensive Lineman) ULM - Nick Fairley (Defensive Lineman) Kentucky - Wes Byrum (Special Teams) Arkansas - Cam Newton (Offensive); Nick Fairley (Defensive Lineman) LSU - Cam Newton (Offensive); Nick Fairley (Defensive Lineman) Ole Miss - Demond Washington (Special Teams); Michael Dyer (Freshman) Georgia – Cam Newton (Offensive); Mike Berry (Offensive Lineman)