Barlow named Eddie Robinson Award finalist

ASU's Reggie Barlow
ASU's Reggie Barlow

PHILADELPHIA, P.A.—Alabama State University head football coach Reggie Barlow has been named one of 20 finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award, which honors the Football Championship Series (FCS) national coach of the year.

Barlow has led the Hornets to a 7-3 overall record heading into the final regular season game of the season.  He led ASU to a Southwestern Athletic Conference Eastern Division Championship and a berth in the 2010 Farmers Insurance SWAC Football Championship Game on Dec. 11 in Birmingham.

The Robinson Award is in its 24th year and will be presented at the national awards banquet on Thursday, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas.

A panel of nearly 175 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the Robinson Award winner.

The list of candidates include;
Rob Ash – Montana State University
Mike Ayers – Wofford College
Al Bagnoli – Penn
Beau Baldwin – Eastern Washington
Reggie Barlow – Alabama State University
Kerwin Bell – Jacksonville University
Rick Chamberlain – University of Dayton
Andy Coen – Lehigh University
Jack Crowe – Jacksonville State University
J.C. Harper – Stephen F. Austin University
Mark Hendrickson – Western Illinois University
Brian Jenkins - Bethune-Cookman College
K.C. Keeler – University of Delaware
Ed Lamb – Southern Utah University
Jimmye Laycock – College of William & Mary
Trent Miles – Indiana State University
Jerry Moore – Appalachian State University
Danny Rocco – Liberty University
Tony Samuel – Southeast Missouri State University
Joe Walton – Robert Morris University