Cam Newton is 3rd Auburn Tiger to win Heisman Trophy

Cam Newton became Auburn's third Heisman Trophy winner when the
junior quarterback was named the recipient of the 76th Heisman Trophy
Saturday night at the Best Buy Theater in New York City. He joins Pat
Sullivan (1971) and Bo Jackson (1985) as Auburn players to claim college
football's most prestigious award.

Newton won in a landslide, finishing with 729 of a possible 886
first-place votes and 2,263 total points to out-distance runner-up
Andrew Luck of Stanford (1,079 points), by 1,184 points. Oregon's
LaMichael James was third with 916 points, while Boise State's Kellen
Moore was fourth with 635 points.

"Who would have ever thought a person from College Park, Ga., would get
an award with such prestige and tradition," said Newton. "I thank God
every single day for giving me the ability to play the great game of

After thanking his parents as well as Auburn coaches and administrators
during his acceptance speech, Newton also recognized the Tiger fans and
his teammates.

"Thank you to the Auburn family," said Newton. "Thank you for all the
support that you have given me during these trying times. I also want to
give a special thanks to my teammates. Without those guys I wouldn't be
here right now getting the recognition."

"There is no question that Cameron is highly deserving of the most
prestigious honor in college football, and I am so proud of him," said
Auburn head coach Gene Chizik. "Not only has Cam been the best player in
college football this year, he has also been an incredible leader for
our football team. Winning the Heisman Trophy is also a tremendous honor
for our entire football team, our coaches and our support staff. This is
a special day for Cam and for Auburn University, and I feel blessed to
be a small part of it."

"I know the entire Auburn family joins me in congratulating Cam for
winning the most prestigious award in college football," said Auburn
Athletics Director Jay Jacobs. "In becoming Auburn's third Heisman
Trophy winner, Cam has joined a truly special fraternity of football
legends. We could not be more proud of Cam and the way that he has
represented Auburn University. This award is also a tremendous tribute
to our entire football program, and especially Coach Chizik, his staff
and Cam's teammates. This is a great day in the history of Auburn
football that we will all cherish for years to come."

Newton completed one of the most dominating seasons in college football
history, compiling a nation-best 49 touchdowns while leading Auburn to a
13-0 record, its seventh Southeastern Conference title, a No. 1 national
ranking and a spot in the BCS National Championship Game.

Newton became one of just three players in NCAA Football Bowl
Subdivision history to accumulate at least 20 rushing and 20 passing
touchdowns in a season, and became the first player in SEC history and
one of nine players in FBS history to pass for 2,000 yards and rush for
1,000 yards in a single season.

Newton passed for an Auburn single-season record 28 touchdowns, rushed
for an Auburn single-season record 20 scores and had a touchdown
reception. He accounted for at least four touchdowns in eight different
games this season, and his 20 rushing touchdowns is second most in a
single season in SEC history.

Newton completed 165-of-246 passes (67.1 percent) for 2,589 yards and
has an NCAA best pass efficiency rating of 188.16 that would be an NCAA
single-season record. He became the first quarterback in school history
to throw at least two touchdown passes in each of the first five games
of the season, and has also thrown for at least two scores in each of
his last five games.

Newton leads the SEC and ranks 15th nationally (second among
quarterbacks) in rushing, averaging 108.4 yards per game, and is the
only player in the country with five games of at least 170 yards
rushing. His 1,409 rushing yards is an SEC single-season record for
rushing yards by a quarterback and third most by any Auburn player in a
single season in school history.

In SEC games, Newton was even better on the ground, averaging 135.5
yards per game with 15 rushing touchdowns – both league bests – during
Auburn's eight regular-season league games. He became the first player
in Auburn history to rush for 170 or more yards in four consecutive SEC
games and the first Tiger to score three or more rushing touchdowns in
three consecutive SEC games.

Newton ranks 10th nationally in total offense, averaging 307.5 yards per
game, and needs just 183 total yards in his final game to break the SEC
single-season record for total offense of 4,181 yards set by Tim Tebow
in 2007.

"It says a lot about the character of both Cam and this football team
that he won," said senior offensive tackle Lee Ziemba. "The perseverance
needed to do what Cam has done this year has been unmatched by anyone
I've been around."

"He is hands down a great football player, but more than that he is a
great teammate," said senior center Ryan Pugh. "It is an honor to have
played with him and help him win the Heisman."

Newton is the first player to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and
Walter Camp Player of the Year Award in the same season since
Wisconsin's Ron Dayne in 1999. Newton is the first quarterback to win
those three awards plus the Davey O'Brien Award since Florida's Danny
Wuerffel in 1996.

Auburn is now one of just nine schools to have at least three Heisman
Trophy winners, joining Army, Florida, Michigan, Nebraska, Notre Dame,
Ohio State, Oklahoma and USC.