Appointments made to Ala. state health boards

MONTGOMERY, AL - Governor Robert Bentley has appointed new members to serve on two boards of the State Health Planning and Development Agency (SHPDA). Governor Bentley appointed the members to the Certificate of Need Review Board (CON) and the State Health Coordinating Council (SHCC).

Upon making the appointments, Governor Bentley signed Executive Order 6, which rescinds a previous Executive Order signed January 18, 2011 calling for a moratorium on any action by the CON and SHCC Boards.

"I have full confidence in the newly appointed members of both the CON and SHCC Boards. Those I appointed, or re-appointed, have a wealth of experience in their respective fields and will make the right decisions as they serve in their capacity as board members." Governor Bentley said.

Members of the Certificate of Need Review Board are: Dr. Swaid N. Swaid, Dr. Herb Stone, Dr. Bob Sheppard, Neal Morrison, Guice Slawson Jr., General Ed Crowell, Hodges Washington, Dr. Michael Gosney and Dr. Chris Harmon.

Members of the State Health Coordinating Council are: Dr. Ruth Yates, Dr. James Walburn, Dr. Vera Soong, Ruth Harrell, Dr. Gillis Payne, Dr. McCain Ashurst, Dr. Theodis Buggs, Dr. Tommy Bender, Dr. Jeff Underwood III, Robbie Owen, Brenda Culver, William Smith, Rebecca Thrasher, Judy Merritt, John Killian, Brandon Farmer, Mary Holcomb, Rep. Jim McClendon, Sen. Greg Reed, Ross Gunnells, Mary Sue McClurkin, F.Wayne Pate and Representative April Weaver.

Information Source: Gov. Bentley's Press Office