Bama golfers named to 2011 Hogan watch list - Montgomery Alabama news.

Bama golfers named to 2011 Hogan watch list

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – University of Alabama golfers Bud Cauley and Bobby Wyatt have been named to the 2011 watch list for the prestigious Ben Hogan Award presented by Baird Private Wealth Management, in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer, taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period. Cauley and Wyatt are part of a 26-player watch list that includes Georgia's Russell Henley, NCAA medalist Scott Langley of Illinois and U.S Amateur Champion Peter Uihlein of Oklahoma State and runner-up David Chung of Stanford.

Cauley, who was a finalist for last year's Hogan Award and a semifinalist in 2009, has finished in the top 10 three times this season and currently leads the Puerto Rico Classic going into Tuesday's final round. He boasts a crisp 71.17 stroke average and is currently ranked No. 35 the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index. Cauley finished tied for third at the acclaimed Jones Cup Invitational on Feb. 7 and fifth at the Southern Amateur Championship at Shoal Creek in Birmingham on July 16, 2010. The two-time first-team All-SEC selection was also selected to play in last year's Nationwide Tour's Children's Hospital Invitational in July.

Wyatt, who burst onto the national scene with a 57 in the first round of the 2010 Alabama Boys State Junior Championship, leads Alabama with a 70.86 stroke average, having finished tied for second, fourth, 16th and tied for 16th in the Crimson Tide's four fall tournaments. Wyatt also finished tied for 16th at the Jones Cup Invitational and is currently ranked No. 6 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index.

Others on the 26-player watch list include Auburn's Blayne Barber, Patrick Cantlay, Gregor Main and Pontus Widegren of UCLA, San Diego's Alex Ching, Harris English of Georgia, Georgia Tech's J.T. Griffin, Luke Guthrie of Illinois, Oklahoma State's Morgan Hoffmann and Kevin Tway, Bobby Hudson of Texas, Iowa's Vince India, Lion Kim of Michigan, Claremont McKenna's Tain Lee, Augusta State's Henrik Norlander and Patrick Reed, Fort Worth native and LSU golfer John Peterson, Andrew Putnam of Pepperdine, Florida's Bank Vongvanij, Alabama's Bobby Wyatt and Stanford's Andrew Yun.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 14. The three finalists will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fourth Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 16.

2011 Ben Hogan Award Watch List

Blayne Barber, Auburn

Patrick Cantlay, UCLA

Bud Cauley, Alabama

Alex Ching, San Diego

David Chung, Stanford

Harris English, Georgia

J.T. Griffin, Georgia Tech

Luke Guthrie, Illinois

Russell Henley, Georgia

Morgan Hoffmann, Oklahoma State

Bobby Hudson, Texas

Vince India, Iowa

Lion Kim, Michigan

Scott Langley, Illinois

Tain Lee, Claremont McKenna

Gregor Main, UCLA

Henrik Norlander, Augusta State

John Peterson, LSU

Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine

Patrick Reed, Augusta State

Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State

Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State

Bank Vongvanij, Florida

Pontus Widegren, UCLA

Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Andrew Yun, Stanford


Powered by Frankly