Alabama nominees for SEC's McWhorter scholarship announced

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – University of Alabama gymnast Kayla Hoffman and football player Greg McElroy have been nominated for the Southeastern Conference's H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Postgraduate Scholarship the league office announced Thursday.

The McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Postgraduate Scholarship has been presented to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes since 1986. The 2011 recipients will be named on April 6 in conjunction with National Student-Athlete Day.

A three-year Scholastic All-American and a three-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll, Hoffman carries a perfect 4.0 grade point average for her career. She is slated to graduate with a degree in human development and family studies in December of 2011 and plans to pursue a graduate degree in marriage and family therapy.

Already a two-time All-American, three-year All-SEC honoree and a three-time NCAA Regional Champion, Hoffman has won 19 individual titles this season and is currently ranked in the top-20 nationally on all four apparatus and the all-around heading into this weekend's SEC Championships. For her career, the Union, N.J., native has scored 9.9 or better 68 times and has won 45 individual event titles.

McElroy, 24-3 over the last two years as Alabama's starting quarterback, earned a bachelor's degree in business marketing in August of 2009 and a master's in sports administration in December of 2010. The Southlake, Texas, native earned the NCAA Today's Top VIII Award and was named the 2010 Capital One/CoSIDA Football Academic All-American of the Year. He also earned the SEC Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2010.

The MVP of the 2009 SEC Championship game, McElroy led the Tide to the 2009 National Football Championship and was captain of the 2010 squad. A finalist for a Rhodes Scholarship, he earned National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame National Scholar-Athlete Award.

Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC Corporate Champion sponsor, provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Postgraduate Scholarship recipients with a $15,000 postgraduate scholarship.  The 22 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $7,500 postgraduate scholarship.

The McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Postgraduate Scholarship recipients are chosen by a committee of faculty athletics representatives from the 12 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla., on June 3.

INFORMATION SOURCE: University of Alabama Athletics