Two more counties to get disaster assistance

Two additional Alabama counties are being added to the list for disaster assistance bringing the total to 41. Governor Robert Bentley was informed by FEMA Thursday morning of the decision to put Perry and Clarke counties on the list.

The assistance will help households and businesses as part of Alabama's federal disaster declaration.

Counties previously designated are Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee,  Chilton, Choctaw, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Pickens, Shelby, Sumter, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Washington, Walker and Winston.

Affected survivors and business owners in the newly designated counties should apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

The hearing or speech impaired can use the TTY line at 1-800-462-7585. The registration lines are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may also be completed online by going to

INFORMATION SOURCE: Governor Bentley's press office