Auburn earns #8 seed in SEC Baseball Tournament

Auburn will face top-seeded South Carolina at 4:30pm CT
on Wednesday in the opening round of the 2011 Southeastern Conference
Baseball Tournament at Regions Park. Auburn enters the tournament as the
eighth seed after finishing the SEC season 14-16 and in a three-way tie
for second in the West with Mississippi State and Alabama.

In the three-team tie-breaker among the three teams from the West,
Mississippi State draws the sixth seed as it went 4-2 against Alabama
and Auburn while Alabama is the seventh seed due to its 3-3 combined
record against Mississippi State and Auburn. Auburn went 2-4 against the
other two.

According to the SEC Tournament Manual, "When three or more teams are
tied for a finish, the following procedure will be used (in order until
the tie is broken) (Note: If the three tied teams have three different
against each other, they shall be seeded in best-percentage order)."

Auburn faced South Carolina three times in Columbia this season, losing
all three contests.

Auburn and South Carolina played each other in an elimination game in
the 2010 SEC Tournament, with Auburn pulling out a 3-1 win in 12

Joining Auburn and South Carolina on its side of the bracket is
fourth-seeded Vanderbilt and fifth-seeded Vanderbilt.

On the other side of the bracket is second-seeded Arkansas,
seventh-seeded Alabama, third-seeded Florida and sixth-seeded
Mississippi State.

Auburn is 29-37 all-time at the SEC Tournament, winning the event three
times (1978, 1989 and 1998).