Bama, Troy linemen named to Outland Trophy watchlist

Two Alabama and one Troy offensive linemen have been named to the Outland Trophy watchlist.

Guard Barrett Jones and center William Vlachos of Alabama, and offensive tackle James Brown of Troy were three of the 65 players named to the list by the Football Writers Association of America.

The Outland Trophy is awarded each year to the nation's top offensive or defensive interior lineman.

Jones and Vlachos were two of the 11 players from the SEC named to the list. Brown was the only Sun Belt player listed.

Two Alabama players have won the award previously. Andre Smith was the 2008 recipient, and Chris Samuels won the award in 1999.