Auburn awards 8 scholarships to walk-ons

Auburn coach Gene Chizik has awarded scholarships to eight walk-ons.

Chizik says he informed the players of the decisions Monday evening, and that "it's really neat to see our team embrace that."

The players placed on scholarship include Ikeem Means, Chris Brooks, Nathan Taylor, Davis Hooper, Aubrey Phillips, Blake Burgess, Chris Humphries and Ashton Richardson.

The Tigers had plenty of available scholarships after offseason attrition.

And Chizik says "our walk-on program is a huge part of who we are and what we do."

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)