From the Big 12 to the SEC: Missouri becomes 14th team in SEC

The Southeastern Conference says it will add Missouri to the league starting next football season.

The SEC released a statement today saying the conference's presidents and chancellors, acting unanimously, announced Missouri will join the league effective July 1, 2012.

Missouri will be leaving the Big 12 conference.

The addition of Missouri will increase SEC membership to 14 schools, including Texas A&M, which announced last month that it was also leaving the Big 12 for the SEC.

Copyright 2011 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.