9 Auburn University Board of Trustee nominees selected - WSFA.com Montgomery Alabama news.

9 AU Trustee nominees selected

Nine candidates were nominated Monday for the Auburn University board of trustees and their names will be submitted to the Alabama Senate for confirmation.

Gov. Robert Bentley said it's important that the Senate confirm the nominees as soon as possible to make sure the Auburn board has enough members to conduct business.

The Senate Confirmations Committee chairman Sen. Jabo Waggoner, R-Birmingham, said he has not seen the list of nominees and that his committee won't vote on the trustees this week. "We'll do it fairly quickly," Waggoner said.

The nominees include three current members of the board of trustees.

The current members nominated are Sarah Newton, Jimmy Rane and Charles McCrary, president of Alabama Power Co. Rane is CEO of Great Southern Wood in Abbeville and has served 12 years as an Auburn trustee.

He said he was honored to have been nominated and looks forward to serving another seven-year term on the board if confirmed by the Senate. He said the Auburn trustees need to "look to every area we can to help our economy." He said the board faces "very complex issues" in coming years."

Newton is the principal of Fayette Elementary School in Fayette.

Others nominated include Robert Dumas, an Auburn banker and president of the Alabama Banking Association; B.T. Roberts, a Mobile area realtor; Clark Sahlie, a Montgomery businessman; Jimmy Sanford, a farmer and businessman from Autauga County; Elizabeth Huntley, a Birmingham lawyer who lives in Clanton; and James Pratt, a Birmingham attorney and president of the Alabama Bar Association.

The selection committee met Monday at the Alabama Capitol to select the nine nominees to serve seven-year terms on the board that governs Auburn University.

A total of 35 candidates were interviewed individually by the selection committee, which includes Gov. Robert Bentley. Bentley said 170 people initially applied.

One possible stumbling block is whether senators consider the nominees diverse enough to lead Auburn. Only one of the nine candidates nominated Monday, Huntley, is black.

Democratic Sen. Bobby Singleton of Greensboro, a member of the black caucus, said black lawmakers would study the list of nominees before voting to confirm them and make sure the board remained diverse.

The board did not nominate current board member Byron Franklin, who is black.

Huntley said she would be honored to serve on the board of her alma mater. "It's been on my bucket list for a long time. I didn't expect it to happen until I was older," Huntley said.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Powered by Frankly