Future black leaders awards ceremony - WSFA.com Montgomery Alabama news.

Future black leaders awards ceremony

They could be our future leaders.  WSFA 12 News and the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Alabama awarded scholarships to the winners of the Future Black Leaders essay contest.  Students across central Alabama submitted an essay on the subject "How can I, an African American youth, develop and promote leadership skills among my peers?"

Ten finalists were recognized during a ceremony Thursday night at the Cloverdale Playhouse in Montgomery.  The top three were awarded scholarships.


1.) $1,200 scholarship & plaque

Kenneth Dickerson Jr./Catholic High Montgomery

2.) $800 scholarship & plaque

Timothy Moorer Jr/Dallas County High

3.) $500 scholarship & plaque

Arandin Harrell/Benjamin Russell High

Willie Carlton Jr./Pike County High

Alexis Smith/Selma High School

Shane Parks/Prattville Christian

Calvin Lane/Enterprise High School

Ciera Harrell/Benjamin Russell High

Tyra Griffin/Pike County High School

Malik Beasley/Alabama Christian Academy


WSFA 12 News anchor Tonya Terry served as emcee for the ceremony.

Powered by Frankly