5 Alabama schools named Blue Ribbon Schools - WSFA.com Montgomery Alabama news.

5 Alabama schools named Blue Ribbon Schools

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - Five Alabama schools have been named Blue Ribbon Schools for 2012.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan said the schools are Daphne High School, Forest Hills School in Florence, Liberty Middle School in Madison, Piedmont High School, and Spencer Elementary School in Mobile County.

Blue Ribbon Schools are selected for their overall academic achievement or for making progress in improving student achievement levels. The schools will be recognized Nov. 12-13 in Washington. The five Alabama schools are among 269 being recognized nationwide.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly