The asteroid: NASA LIVE commentary, images, video - WSFA.com Montgomery Alabama news.

The asteroid: NASA LIVE commentary, images, video

Posted: Updated:
  • More newsMore>>

  • Moscow: Ukraine talks must back cease-fire now

    Moscow: Ukraine talks must back cease-fire now

    Monday, September 1 2014 7:13 AM EDT2014-09-01 11:13:28 GMT
    With a new round of talks on easing the crisis in Ukraine about to start, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov has called on the participants to push for a cease-fire between Ukrainian government troops and...More >>
    Diplomats at a new round of talks on easing the crisis in Ukraine must push for an immediate, unconditional cease-fire between Ukrainian government troops and pro-Russian separatists, Russia's foreign minister said...More >>
  • Beijing faces defiance in Hong Kong on vote reform

    Beijing faces defiance in Hong Kong on vote reform

    Monday, September 1 2014 4:40 AM EDT2014-09-01 08:40:43 GMT
    Hong Kong pro-democracy lawmakers disrupted a Beijing official's speech Monday as he sought to explain a decision announced over the weekend to tightly limit voting reforms for the southern Chinese financial hub.More >>
    Hong Kong pro-democracy lawmakers disrupted a Beijing official's speech Monday as he sought to explain a decision announced over the weekend to tightly limit voting reforms for the southern Chinese financial hub.More >>
  • Lawmakers: Islamic State groups wants to hit US

    Lawmakers: Islamic State groups wants to hit US

    Monday, September 1 2014 4:33 AM EDT2014-09-01 08:33:11 GMT
    Cities in the United States and Western Europe are being eyed as Islamic State militants' future targets and President Barack Obama needs to take action, U.S. lawmakers say.More >>
    Cities in the United States and Western Europe are being eyed as Islamic State militants' future targets and President Barack Obama needs to take action, U.S. lawmakers say.More >>

At the time of its closest approach to Earth at approximately 2:25 p.m. EST (11:25 a.m. PST/ 19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth's surface. 

The commentary will be available via NASA TV and streamed live online at: 

http://www.nasa.gov/ntv

 

and

 

http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2


In addition to the commentary, near real-time imagery of the asteroid's flyby before and after closest approach, made available to NASA by astronomers in Australia and Europe, weather permitting, will be streamed beginning at about noon EST (9 a.m. PST) and continuing through the afternoon at the following website: 

http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2


A Ustream feed of the flyby from a telescope at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala., will be streamed for three hours starting at 9 p.m. EST (8 p.m. CST). To view the feed and ask researchers questions about the flyby via Twitter, visit: 

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/nasa-msfc

Powered by WorldNow