Auburn has 6 on Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team

Six Auburn football players were selected as part of the SEC Coaches preseason all-conference teams released Thursday.

Running back Tre Mason, who rushed for 1,002 yards in 2012, and center Reese Dismukes, a third-year starter on the offensive line, were selected for the second team offense. Placekicker Cody Parkey and punter Steven Clark, both seniors, were second-team honorees as well.

Named to the third team were tight end C.J. Uzomah and defensive end Dee Ford.

This marks the 11th straight year of the SEC Coaches preseason all-SEC team.  Eleven of the 14 SEC schools had a representative on the first team, while every institution had at least two players named to one of the three units.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Auburn's season opener is Saturday, August 31, at Jordan-Hare Stadium versus Washington State in a 6 p.m. Central kickoff.

INFORMATION SOURCE: Auburn Athletics Dept.