More Food Stamps Benefits Released For Victims Of Hurricane Ivan

Federal Agriculture officials have approved replacement food stamp benefits for ten more Alabama counties to replace food lost because of power outages caused by Hurricane Ivan.

The department approved benefits for Dallas, Hale, Wilcox, Marengo, Montgomery, Lowndes, Choctaw, Sumter, Perry and Greene counties. A total of 22 counties have been approved for benefits. Department of Human Resources commissioner Page Walley said the benefits will be provided only to current food stamp households that receive regular monthly benefits on or before September 15th. He said it not necessary for recipients to go to the food stamp office -- the benefits will be automatically posted to the recipients' Electronic Benefits Transfer account starting Thursday.

Walley also noted that the USDA has approved a temporary waiver that will permit recipients to use their benefits to purchase hot foods through October 31st. Other counties previously announced include: Baldwin, Butler, Coffee, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Escambia, Geneva, Mobile, Monroe, Washington and Clarke.