Gus Malzahn picks up Bobby Bowden Coach of the Year award

MONTGOMERY, AL (WSFA) - First year Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn continues to rake in the 'Coach of the Year' awards, this time his seventh.

He is the Associated Press Coach of the Year, the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year, The Home Depot Coach of the Year, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year, Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year, Sporting News Coach of the Year and Friday he added to his collection when he was named the Bobby Bowden National Collegiate Coach of the Year.

The award was presented by the Over the Mountain Touchdown Club of Birmingham and members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

The award is presented annually to honor excellence in college football coaching. This is the awards fifth year and the second time it has been given to an Auburn coach. It has never been won by a coach outside Alabama.

Former AU coach Gene Chizik received it following his BCS National Championship win in 2010 and Alabama coach Nick Saban has won it three times during his national championship wins.

The other finalists were Duke's David Cutcliffe, Baylor's Art Briles, Michigan State's Mark Dantonio and Florida State's Jimbo Fisher.

Bobby Bowden will present the award to Malzahn on March 2, 2014 in Birmingham.

Malzahn turned the Tigers around from a 3-9 season last year to a 12-2 season with a trip to the BCS National Championship this year.

Copyright 2014 WSFA 12 News.  All rights reserved.