2014 Jimmy Hitchcock Award winners announced - WSFA.com Montgomery Alabama news.

2014 Jimmy Hitchcock Award winners announced


The YMCA of Greater Montgomery has announced Shaun Dion Hamilton and Janie Hampton are this year's 2014 Jimmy Hitchcock Award recipients. 

Hamilton and Hampton were honored along with 52 other area high school seniors at an awards banquet Friday night.

The Jimmy Hitchcock Committee honors young athletes for Christian leadership. Students are nominated  by their coaches and administrators. Hitchcock was the first All-American football player at Auburn University.

Hamilton is a mid-term graduate of Carver High School. He received 31 college scholarship offers. He accepted a football scholarship to the University of Alabama and enrolled in January. Hamilton is a member of Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church but has been attending Church of the Highlands since arriving in Tuscaloosa.

Hampton is an active basketball, volleyball and soccer player at Trinity Presbyterian School. She received the Auburn University Achievement Scholarship and the Auburn Alumni Endowed Scholarship to attend Auburn in the fall. She is a member of Frazer United Methodist Church.

Ole miss head football coach Hugh Freeze was the keynote speaker at the banquet.

Copyright 2014 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly