Four AL counties added to disaster relief declaration - Montgomery Alabama news.

Four AL counties added to disaster relief declaration

Governor Bentley (Source: WBRC video) Governor Bentley (Source: WBRC video)

New information has been released on the disaster relief declaration for Alabama. People in four counties are eligible to receive federal funds and more areas could soon be added to the list.

Governor Robert Bentley says he was pleased with what he calls a quick response by the federal government. He also hopes more money will be on the way soon

Eligible residents can apply for grants and low costs loans to help repair property and in some cases even get temporary housing. The catch is this is only for people in Jefferson, Limestone, Lee and Baldwin counties. They are the only areas, currently, that meet the damage threshold set by the feds.

"That does not mean we are not looking at all the other counties. In fact, today we have FEMA looking at Etowah County and some of the other counties and we will look at all the other counties. Now, if there is damage, we want to put them in and try to get assistance for everyone," said Governor Bentley.

In all, Alabama saw damage in 38 counties. There were more than 20 reported tornados that hit the state last week. Governor Bentley says once the other surveys are complete, hopefully more funding will be made available.

Copyright 2014 WBRC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly