Hampshire College added to schools facing Title IX review - WSFA.com Montgomery Alabama news.

Hampshire College added to list of schools facing Title IX review

Five more schools have been added to a list of 71 colleges currently under investigation for their handling of campus sexual assault.

Hampshire College in Amherst is among them.

The Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights says the list reflects schools where at least one student has filed a Title IX complaint related to sexual violence, though Hampshire College Communications officials tell CBS 3 that was not the case.

CBS 3 reached out to Hampshire College for comment.

They sent us a statement from the college president, Jonathan Lash, reading in part:

I want to let you know that Hampshire has recently been selected by the Office for Civil Rights (OCR) for a compliance review under Title IX.

Yesterday I had a fruitful conversation with the investigation team from OCR to discuss the process, and to assure OCR that Hampshire will be open, transparent and collaborative in working with their team. We have endeavored to be proactive in updating our policies and processes to incorporate the evolving Federal law and guidance and to reflect promising practices that are fair and balanced to all parties, but I recognize that there is always more that we can do.

The review will cover the College's policies and procedures on sexual and gender-based harassment and violence, including our response to reports of sexual assault. The review was not prompted by an individual complaint against Hampshire, nor does the opening of the review signify that we are not currently in compliance. Nonetheless we expect that OCR may identify areas where we can more effectively serve our students, faculty and staff, and I gave OCR my commitment that the College will do all we can to learn from their review.

Copyright2014 WSHM (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

  • NewsMore>>

  • American ISIS wife endured horror, now wants to come home

    American ISIS wife endured horror, now wants to come home

    Thursday, April 19 2018 7:26 PM EDT2018-04-19 23:26:55 GMT
    Thursday, April 19 2018 7:28 PM EDT2018-04-19 23:28:29 GMT

    Sam Sally says she was coerced by her husband, who has since died, into crossing into ISIS territory while on vacation in Turkey four years ago.

    More >>

    Sam Sally says she was coerced by her husband, who has since died, into crossing into ISIS territory while on vacation in Turkey four years ago.

    More >>
  • Southwest Airlines sought more time for engine inspections

    Southwest Airlines sought more time for engine inspections

    Thursday, April 19 2018 1:02 AM EDT2018-04-19 05:02:22 GMT
    Thursday, April 19 2018 7:23 PM EDT2018-04-19 23:23:51 GMT
    (NTSB via AP). National Transportation Safety Board investigators examine damage to the engine of the Southwest Airlines plane that made an emergency landing at Philadelphia International Airport in Philadelphia on Tuesday, April 17, 2018. The Southwes...(NTSB via AP). National Transportation Safety Board investigators examine damage to the engine of the Southwest Airlines plane that made an emergency landing at Philadelphia International Airport in Philadelphia on Tuesday, April 17, 2018. The Southwes...

    The Federal Aviation Administration's announcement late Wednesday comes nearly a year after the engine's manufacturer recommended the additional inspections, and a month after European regulators ordered their airlines to do the work.

    More >>

    The Federal Aviation Administration's announcement late Wednesday comes nearly a year after the engine's manufacturer recommended the additional inspections, and a month after European regulators ordered their airlines to do the work.

    More >>
  • Police chief pleads guilty to stealing from Christmas fund, department

    Police chief pleads guilty to stealing from Christmas fund, department

    Thursday, April 19 2018 6:36 PM EDT2018-04-19 22:36:33 GMT
    A file photo of Clanton Police Chief Brian Stilwell. (Source: WBRC file photo)A file photo of Clanton Police Chief Brian Stilwell. (Source: WBRC file photo)

    A former law enforcement officer who swore to uphold the law has interrupted his trial on felony ethics violations and fraudulent use of a credit card in order to plead guilty.

    More >>

    A former law enforcement officer who swore to uphold the law has interrupted his trial on felony ethics violations and fraudulent use of a credit card in order to plead guilty.

    More >>
Powered by Frankly