Tuberville Wins Award

AUBURN * Auburn head coach Tommy Tuberville has been named the 2004 Schutt Sports Coach of the Year, it announced Wednesday.

Tuberville led Auburn to a perfect 12-0 regular season, the first in the program's history, en route to the Tigers' berth in the 2005 Nokia Sugar Bowl. He guided Auburn to its first Southeastern Conference Championship since 1989, defeating three top 10 teams * No. 5 LSU, No. 8 Georgia and No. 10 Tennessee * along the way.

Tuberville, who came to Auburn in 1999, has led the Tigers to 14 straight victories, the team's most since the 1993-94 season. It also currently marks the fourth-longest streak in the nation.

The Camden, Ark., native, has gone 50-24 * good forth fourth all-time at Auburn * in six seasons, guiding the Tigers to at least a share of the SEC West crown in four of those campaigns. Tuberville has guided the Tigers to at least nine wins in three of his six seasons.

Finalists for the award include: Utah's Urban Meyer, Louisville's Bobby Petrino, Oklahoma's Bob Stoops and California's Jeff Tedford.