Inaugural Ceremony

The Swearing-in ceremony takes place on the West Front of the U.S. Capitol with the president-elect being sworn-in by 12 noon on January 20. Amendment XX to the U.S. Constitution states that the term of the President expires at noon on January 20.


Prelude The United States Marine Band
Lieutenant Colonel Michael J. Colburn
Call to Order and Welcoming Remarks The Honorable Trent Lott
United States Senator, Mississippi
Invocation The Reverend Dr. Luis León
Musical Selection Susan Graham
The Vice Presidential Oath of Office will be administered to Richard B. Cheney by the Speaker of the House of Representatives The Honorable J. Dennis Hastert
Musical Selection Denyce Graves
The Presidential Oath of Office will be administered to George W. Bush by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States The Honorable William H. Rehnquist
Inaugural Address The President of the United States
Musical Selection The United States Marine Band
The United States Army Herald Trumpets
The United States Navy Sea Chanters
Benediction Pastor Kirbyjon H. Caldwell
The National Anthem Technical Sergeant Bradley Bennett
The United States Air Force Band
Information provided by the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies