Warning: 'Clickbait' on Facebook can be a trap - WSFA.com Montgomery Alabama news.

Warning: 'Clickbait' on Facebook can be a trap

(KFVS) -

Have you seen this 'Be Like Bill' meme on your Facebook page, yet?

It's an example of a great meme to spread like wild fire on social media.

You could call it 'clickbait', similar to the IQ tests, quizzes and other content designed to get you to click.

But the Better Business Bureau warns you should check before you click.

Privacy Concerns

Before you use any app through Facebook or Twitter, make sure you read the terms of privacy.

For the 'Be like Bill' memes, the generator Blobla says in its terms, that it does not collect any data from the user's Facebook account when you share content from its site. Nor does the company store any information from users on its servers.

The company originally said in its terms of privacy, "You will allow us to use, edit your content with our service permanently, no limit and no recover."

However, Blobla reached out to KFVS12 to say it was removing that from its terms to avoid confusion. The only reason it would use content was because of its function for normal users to create a post in other languages.

In other cases, similar websites create content that can contain viruses that can damage your computer, use your Facebook profile in ways you might not know, or even attempt to steal your credit card or bank account numbers.

How to avoid it

The BBB offers the following tips:

  • Stay away from promotions of "exclusive," "shocking" or "sensational" pictures or video. If it sounds too outlandish to be true, it is probably a scam.
  • Hover over a link to see its true destination. Before you click, mouse over the link to see where it will take you. Don't click on links leading to unfamiliar websites.
  • Confirm before you trust your "friends" online. It might not actually be your friends who are "liking" or sharing scam links to photos, quizzes or games. Their account may have been hacked and scammers could be using another tactic called "clickjacking". Clickjacking is a technique that scammers use to trick you into clicking on social media links that you would not usually click on.
  • Change your password if you think your account has been compromised.
  • Report scam posts on Facebook by following these instructions.
  • Report malware or spam on Twitter by following these instructions.

How to remove it

Typically, personality quizzes or games are considered apps on Facebook.

To remove an app or game you've added:

  1. Click carrot symbol in the top of Facebook and select Settings
  2. Click Apps in the left menu
  3. Hover over the app or game you'd like to remove and click x

Facebook says once you’ve removed the app or game, it should no longer post to your Timeline. If you still see a past story, you can remove it.

However, the app or game may have stored info from when you were using it, but you can contact the developer to ask that they delete any info they may still have.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2016 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly