Official Opinions On Hyundai Ceremony - WSFA.com Montgomery Alabama news.

Official Opinions On Hyundai Ceremony

Thousands of miles from Seoul, Korea, Friday's ceremony was about blending Koreans and Americans together to form a new beginning in Montgomery. The people we talked with all said they knew they would probably enjoy Friday's grand opening ceremony at Hyundai, but they said they didn't know it was going to be spectacular.

Emotions ran high even before the opening ceremony began. As some of the 4,000 invited guests arrived, the reality of what was about to happen hit them. One was Hyundai spokesperson Kathy Johnson. "I actually found myself getting teary eyed and I realized what a milestone we have come. Actually, I feel like today we have birthed a baby." District Attorney Ellen Brooks was emotional too. "I was born and raised in Montgomery, Alabama and I've never been prouder. It's a great time for this city." And, City Council Member Tim Head also felt it. "I'm flabbergasted! Just to be able to come out here and see the extent of what's taken place is absolutely unbelievable."

Lots of elected officials were at the ceremony. Most members of Alabama's congressional delegation were present too. And, there was also the appearance of former President George Bush. And, when it was all over, each the person had a different personal reaction to what they had just experienced. State Treasurer Kay Ivey was one. "It was so sincere. It was so sincere from everybody - even the gentleman to my left. He is the dean of the engineering school in Korea and we conversed. They are so sincere." Judge Sue Bell Cobb of the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals had her reaction too. "I'm from Alabama. My family goes back generations. I love this state, and I don't to want to lose people to other states. I want them to stay here. This is a reason they can stay in Alabama."

Former Commissioner of Mental Health also felt the excitement." Little bitty town like Montgomery, Alabama. Who would have ever believed it? Who would have ever thunk it - as they would say? And City Council member Janet May says she's considering reacting with her purse."I was thinking I'll probably buy a Santa Fe. Personally, that's how it will affect me because I'd like to drive one because I'd like to know my neighbors made it."

And, one personal observation. I was moved at how fired up all the Hyundai team members were during the ceremony. When Chairman Chung took the stage they stood, applauded and genuinely cheered.

Reporter: Eileen Jones

  • NewsMore>>

  • Lax vetting on Trump nominees begins to frustrate senators

    Lax vetting on Trump nominees begins to frustrate senators

    Wednesday, April 25 2018 12:47 AM EDT2018-04-25 04:47:40 GMT
    Wednesday, April 25 2018 10:19 AM EDT2018-04-25 14:19:53 GMT
    (AP Photo/Alex Brandon). CIA director Mike Pompeo and his wife Susan Pompeo arrive for a State Dinner with French President Emmanuel Macron and President Donald Trump at the White House, Tuesday, April 24, 2018, in Washington.(AP Photo/Alex Brandon). CIA director Mike Pompeo and his wife Susan Pompeo arrive for a State Dinner with French President Emmanuel Macron and President Donald Trump at the White House, Tuesday, April 24, 2018, in Washington.

    As President Donald Trump's pick to lead Veterans Affairs skids to a halt, senators from both parties are voicing frustration that the White House is skipping crucial vetting of nominees and leaving lawmakers to...

    More >>

    As President Donald Trump's pick to lead Veterans Affairs skids to a halt, senators from both parties are voicing frustration that the White House is skipping crucial vetting of nominees and leaving lawmakers to clean up the mess.

    More >>
  • Jury to deliberate after Cosby painted as predator, victim

    Jury to deliberate after Cosby painted as predator, victim

    Wednesday, April 25 2018 12:26 AM EDT2018-04-25 04:26:54 GMT
    Wednesday, April 25 2018 10:19 AM EDT2018-04-25 14:19:41 GMT
    (AP Photo/Matt Slocum). Bill Cosby departs after his sexual assault trial near a cloud of bubbles blown by a protester, Tuesday, April 24, 2018, at the Montgomery County Courthouse in Norristown, Pa.(AP Photo/Matt Slocum). Bill Cosby departs after his sexual assault trial near a cloud of bubbles blown by a protester, Tuesday, April 24, 2018, at the Montgomery County Courthouse in Norristown, Pa.

    Jurors at Bill Cosby's sexual assault retrial are poised to start deliberating after a marathon day of closing arguments.

    More >>

    Jurors at Bill Cosby's sexual assault retrial are poised to start deliberating after a marathon day of closing arguments.

    More >>
  • Trump travel ban is focus of Supreme Court's last arguments

    Trump travel ban is focus of Supreme Court's last arguments

    Wednesday, April 25 2018 12:49 AM EDT2018-04-25 04:49:52 GMT
    Wednesday, April 25 2018 10:19 AM EDT2018-04-25 14:19:34 GMT
    (AP Photo/Jessica Gresko). In this April 23, 2018, photo, people wait in line outside the Supreme Court in Washington, to be in the gallery when the court hears arguments in on April 25, over President Donald Trump’s ban on travelers from several mostl...(AP Photo/Jessica Gresko). In this April 23, 2018, photo, people wait in line outside the Supreme Court in Washington, to be in the gallery when the court hears arguments in on April 25, over President Donald Trump’s ban on travelers from several mostl...

    The Supreme Court is saving one of its biggest cases for last, weighing President Donald Trump's ban on travelers from several mostly Muslim countries.

    More >>

    The Supreme Court is saving one of its biggest cases for last, weighing President Donald Trump's ban on travelers from several mostly Muslim countries.

    More >>
Powered by Frankly