Governor Riley Requests Federal Disaster Declaration

CLANTON_From the Alabama Emergency Operations Center in Clanton, Governor Bob Riley this morning asked President Bush to issue an "expedited major disaster declaration" for the state as a result of the approaching danger posed by Hurricane Dennis.

"The state is estimating cost figures in the excess of several million dollars. As soon as conditions allow, the state will be requesting post-disaster damage assessment assistance," the Governor wrote in his request to the President.

A federal disaster declaration would open up a number of different types of federal resources for the state. Under a federal declaration, storm victims would be able to apply for various types of assistance measures including temporary housing assistance, individual family grants, loans and grants to repair homes and businesses, and disaster unemployment assistance.

If granted by the President, 45 Alabama counties would be initially designated as disaster areas. Other counties could be added.

Based upon the current projected path of Dennis, these counties are expected to be the most impacted at this time: The counties are: Mobile, Baldwin, Escambia, Conecuh, Monroe, Houston, Geneva, Covington, Coffee, Dale, Henry, Barbour, Pike, Crenshaw, Butler, Wilcox, Clarke, Washington, Lee, Russell, Bullock, Macon, Montgomery, Elmore, Lowndes, Autauga, Dallas, Marengo, Choctaw, Chambers, Randolph, Tallapoosa, Clay, Coosa, Talladega, Chilton, Shelby, Jefferson, Bibb, Perry, Tuscaloosa, Hale, Greene, Sumter and Pickens.