AL college football players named to award watch lists

AL college football players named to award watch lists

PHILADELPHIA, PA (WSFA) - The Maxwell Football Club announced two new award watch lists Monday ahead of the upcoming college football season, and football fans in Alabama will recognize a few names.

One of those awards is the Maxwell Award, which features four players from Alabama, two from Auburn and one from Troy.

The award honors its recipient as America's College Player of the Year since 1937 and considers Football Bowl Subdivision players from across the nation.

A second watch list that was announced is the Chuck Bednarik Award, which has gone to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. This list has two Crimson Tide players and one Tiger.

The winners of these awards will be announced Friday, March 9 in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

A third watch list announced is for the Rimington Award. Ths award goes to the All-American center pick from three existing All-American Teams. The Rimington Trophy has played a major role in raising money to support the CF community and is honors one of the most pivotal roles on the football field, according to its website.

These college athletes from Alabama were named to award watch lists:

2017 Maxwell Award 
  • Minkah Fitzpatrick – DB, Alabama
  • Jalen Hurts – QB, Alabama
  • Kamryn Pettway – RB, Auburn
  • Calvin Ridley – WR, Alabama
  • Bo Scarbrough – RB, Alabama
  • Brandon Silvers – QB, Troy
  • Jarrett Stidham – QB, Auburn
2017 Chuck Bednarik Award 
  • Minkah Fitzpatrick – DB, Alabama
  • Tray Matthews – S, Auburn
  • Da'Ron Payne – NG, Alabama
2017 Rimington Trophy Award
  • Austin Golson, Auburn
  • Bradley Bozeman, Alabama
  • Deontae Crumitie, Troy

Copyright 2017 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.