Wednesday is Pro-Am day at PGA Tour Barbasol Championship

Wednesday is Pro-Am day at PGA Tour Barbasol Championship

OPELIKA, AL (WSFA) - PGA Golfers playing in the Barbasol Championship get their first taste of the course Wednesday. The professional golfers are teaming up with amateurs, playing the course, the day before tournament play begins.

Several big names from Auburn University are playing as amateurs today.

Ronnie Brown- 8:20 a.m. off Tee one: Former Auburn running back played in the NFL from 2005 until 2014. Drafted by the Miami Dolphins,
he later played for the Philadelphia Eagles, San Diego Chargers, and Houston Texans. Brown played in 132 NFL games and rushed just under 5,400 yards.

Jason Campbell- 1:05 p.m. off Tee one: Jason Campbell made a name for himself as Auburn's quarterback and went on to play in the NFL. Drafted in 2005 by the Washington Redskins, Campbell later played for the Oakland Raiders, Chicago Bears, and the Cincinnati Bengals. He retired in 2014 after playing in 86 NFL games and completing more than 1,500 passes.

Al Del Greco- 8:10 a.m. off Tee one: After playing at Auburn, Del Greco finished his 17 NFL seasons with 347 of 449 (77 percent) field goals and 551 of 554 (99) extra points, giving him a total of 1,592 points. Del Greco played for the Packers, Cardinals, Oilers, and Titans. He was inducted into the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame. He was nicknamed "Automatic Al." He is considered one of the greatest kickers in history.

Jimmy Green- 8:10 a.m. off Tee one: Golfer Jimmy Green played on the Tour in 1996 and 1998, winning once at the 1996 Nike Buffalo Open. He played on the PGA in 1997 and 1999–2001. His best finish was T-4 at the 2000 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro- Am.  

Gabe Gross- 12:45 p.m. off Tee one: A former Auburn Tiger and Major League Baseball player, Gross batted left-handed and threw right-handed.  He played professionally from 2005 to 2010 for the following teams: Toronto Blue Jays, Milwaukee Brewers, Tampa Bay Rays and the Oakland Athletics.

Will Herring- 8:40 a.m. off tee 10: A graduate of Opelika High School and Auburn University, Herring played professionally in the
NFL from 2007 to 2014. The linebacker had 148 tackles and 3 interceptions in his NFL career. He played for the Seattle Seahawks, New Orleans Saints, and the St. Louis Rams. 

Coach Gus Malzahn- 9 a.m. off Tee 10: Get ready for the Gus Bus. The Auburn head football coach returns to the Barbasol Pro-Am.  Malzahn spent
the 2012 season as the head football coach at Arkansas State. From 2009 to 2011, Malzahn served as Auburn's offensive coordinator. In 2010, a season in which Auburn won the national championship, Malzahn received the Broyles Award,  which recognizes the top assistant coach college football. Prior to his stints at Arkansas State and Auburn, Malzahn served as offensive coordinator at the University of Arkansas and the University of Tulsa.

Lloyd Nix- 8:40 off tee 10: He quarterbacked the best back-to-back seasons in Auburn football history, 10-0 and National Champions in 1957, and 9-0-1 in 1958 with a fourth place finish in the AP Poll. Moved from halfback to quarterback before this 1957 Junior season, he was second in the SEC in total offense. The next year as a Senior and team Captain he led the conference in total offense, playing both offense and defense, and twice named to the All-SEC team. In 1958 he was the first baseman on Auburn's SEC baseball Champions and was named to the All-SEC team. During the 1959 season, he had a perfect 9-0 pitching record. He won the 1959 Cliff Hare Award as Auburn's outstanding senior athlete.

Coach Bruce Pearl- 8:50 a.m. off Tee 10: Welcome to the 500 win club, 506 and counting actually. Bruce Pearl became the 21st fastest coach to 500 wins in his 691st game in Auburn's 78-74 win over LSU on Jan. 19, 2017. He reached the historic mark between a pair of Hall of Famers, just behind Lute Olson and ahead of Nolan Richardson. He enters his 23rd season in 2017-18, averaging 23.0 wins per season.

The Pro-Am is open to the public.

Copyright 2017 WSFA 12 News. All Rights Reserved.