Grayson Murray wins Barbasol Championship for first PGA Tour win

Grayson Murray wins Barbasol Championship for first PGA Tour win

OPELIKA, AL (WSFA) - Shooting a 3-under on Sunday propelled Grayson Murray to the top of the leaderboard, and the 2017 Barbasol Championship victory.

Murray turned in a 21-under en route to his first career PGA Tour victory at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika.

Chad Collins, who sat atop the leaderboard on Friday, made a strong push on Sunday at Grand National, but fell shy of forcing a playoff by one stroke.

Saturday's leader Scott Stallings shot even on Sunday, and stayed at 19-under for the day, tying for third place. Tying with Stallings was Bryan Gay, who made a furious push in the final round of competition jumping six strokes to 19-under.

Sam Burns, the only amateur to make the cut, tied for sixth at 18-under, finishing ahead of major champions Davis Love III (-4), Retief Goosen (-15), and Jim Furyk (-11).

For the Bama boys, former Tide golfer Dicky Pride led this segment of the field at 14-under, but following closely behind at 11-under, another former Tide golfer Robby Shelton. Trey Mullinax fired a 1-under on the final day of competition, good enough to finish overall at 8-under.

Former Auburn golfers Blayne Barber and Matt Gilchrest tied, finishing at 10-under. Patton Kizzire shot even on Sunday, finishing at 5-under.

Mobile native Bobby Wyatt shot the same score as he did in last year's Barbasol Championship, a 1-under.

The final leaderboard can be seen here.

Copyright 2017 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.