Recruits across Wiregrass commit in first-ever December signing - Montgomery Alabama news.

Recruits across Wiregrass commit in first-ever December signing period

Jarvis Hayes. (Source: WSFA 12 News) Jarvis Hayes. (Source: WSFA 12 News)
AJ Pierce and Kalen Whitlow. (Source: WSFA 12 News) AJ Pierce and Kalen Whitlow. (Source: WSFA 12 News)

The first early national signing period for college football began on Wednesday and already schools are bringing in top recruits.

According to ESPN, calls for an early signing period began about a decade ago. In April, the Division 1 council passed recruiting reform. Then in May, commissioners paved the way for the first-ever December signing period.  

Recruits across the country have from Wednesday until Friday to submit their early signing commitments.

Already players across the Wiregrass have announced their commitments:

  1. Jarvis Hayes, former Slocomb High DL, to Troy
  2. AJ Pierce, Northview High DL, to Troy
  3. Kalen Whitlow, former Northview High QB, to Tennessee State

The following recruits have announced their commitments to Alabama, Auburn, Alabama State and Troy:


  1. Eyabi Anoma OLB     
  2. Jalyn Armour-Davis DB       
  3. Christian Barmore DL        
  4. Slade Bolden ATH     
  5. Tommy Brown OL       
  6. Jordan Davis OLB     
  7. Skyler DeLong P          
  8. Emil Ekiyor Jr. OL       
  9. Jerome Ford RB        
  10. Josh Jobe DB       
  11. Cameron Latu OLB     
  12. Jarez Parks OLB     
  13. Saivion Smith DB       
  14. Xavier Williams WR       
  15. Stephon Wynn Jr. DL 


  1. Joey Gatewood QB     
  2. Michael Harris LB       
  3. Jalil Irvin OL      
  4. Shedrick Jackson WR       
  5. Josh Marsh LB       
  6. Asa Martin RB        
  7. Zakoby McClain LB        
  8. Smoke Monday DB      
  9. Daquan Newkirk DL       
  10. Kayode Oladele DE       
  11. Jamien Sherwood DB       
  12. Shaun Shivers Ath      
  13. Kameron Stutts OL       
  14. Christian Tutt DB       
  15. Seth Williams WR


  1. Daymon Williams DE
  2. Bryan West ATH
  3. Jahmal Wynter DL
  4. Ismail Saleem WR
  5. Moses Marshall IV TE
  6. Leeward Brown OL


  1. Will Choloh DT
  2. Jake Andrews OT
  3. Gunnar Watson PRO
  4. Antonio Showers OLB
  5. K.J. Robertson DT
  6. Anthony Pierce Jr.
  7. Kevin Perkins RB
  8. John Hines WDE
  9. Ja’Quez Dunmore S
  10. Levon Fletcher CB
  11. Tyrone Harris S
  12. Grant Betts OC
  13. Hamilton Hawthorne OG
  14. Jarvis Hayes WDE
  15. Demontrez Brown WR

Copyright 2017 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly