Tuskegee chosen to repeat as West division champs at SIAC Media Day

Tuskegee chosen to repeat as West division champs at SIAC Media Day
(Source: Tuskegee University)

ATLANTA, GA. (WSFA) - At the annual gathering of coaches from the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, the Tuskegee Golden Tigers lined the preseason selection sheet at SIAC Media Day.

Tuesday, at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, the Golden Tigers were chosen to repeat as West division regular season champions. This is the second year in a row and third year out of four that Tuskegee has been chosen to win its division of the SIAC.

For the third consecutive year, a Golden Tiger was selected as the SIAC Preseason Defensive Player of the Year. This year it was junior linebacker Davoris Thomas who was the preseason choice after Julian Morgan (2016) and Osband Thompson (2017) were the previous two selections.

Last season the junior from Spanish Fort, Alabama, recorded 80 tackles total, 44 solo tackles, six tackles for loss and three sacks among other impressive stats. Thomas was also named the MVP of last year's 33-7 win over Jackson State in the 5th Quarter Classic.

Thomas was not alone in earning preseason honors for the Golden Tigers. Tuskegee had seven players named to the SIAC Preseason First-Team list, including quarterback Jamarcus Ezell, wide receiver Javarrius Cheatham, offensive lineman Lowell Richardson, defensive end Terrance Leatherwood, defensive back Darnell Hill, kicker Dalton Hall, and Thomas.

Tuskegee also had a trio of players named to the second team list. They were offensive lineman Rochelin Romain, defensive lineman Kali James, and linebacker Kevin Dawson.

Tuskegee finished last season 9-2 en route to winning the 2017 SIAC Championship. They will open the 2018 season in the Labor Day Classic against Alabama State Sept. 1 at 5 p.m.

Copyright 2018 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.