Pat Dye Inducted Into College Football Hall of Fame

NEW YORK  -- Former Auburn football coach Pat Dye was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on the occasion of the 48th Annual National  Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City Tuesday.

Dye, who coached at Auburn from 1981-92, was the 11th Auburn player or coach inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.  "I'm deeply humbled and very appreciative of this honor," said Dye. "Being inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame is something that I would have never dreamed of. There are numerous players, coaches and support staff that played a role in our success. I think it's an award for all the people who helped me along the way. I think they're all going to enjoy being a part of it. "

Dye posted a 153-62-5 record in 19 years as a Division I head coach, including a 99-39-4 record in 12 seasons at Auburn. Dye spent six seasons as the head coach at East Carolina (1974-79) and one season at Wyoming (1980) before coming to Auburn.

Auburn won four Southeastern Conference Championships under Dye's leadership, claiming league crowns in 1983, 1987, 1988, and 1989. In a nine-year span from 1982-90, Dye directed Auburn to an 84-22-3 record and a .784 winning percentage, the third best in the country during that time.

Under Dye, Auburn posted four 10-win seasons and won six bowl games in >nine appearances. A three-time SEC Coach of the Year and 1983 National Coach of the Year, Dye is one of only seven coaches in college football history to have coached a winner of the Heisman Trophy (Bo Jackson, 1985), Outland Trophy (Tracy Rocker, 1988) and Lombardi Trophy (Tracy Rocker, 1988).

At Auburn, Dye coached 21 All-Americans, 71 All-SEC players and 48 Academic All-SEC players. On Nov. 19 in a pre-game dedication prior to the Alabama game, Dye was honored as the field at Jordan-Hare Stadium was renamed Pat Dye Field.

Dye joins former Auburn coaches John W. Heisman, Mike Donahue and Ralph "Shug" Jordan in the Hall of Fame. Former Tiger players in the Hall of Fame include Jimmy Hitchcock, Walter Gilbert, Pat Sullivan, Tucker Frederickson, Bo Jackson, Terry Beasley and Tracy Rocker.

In addition to Dye, the 2005 class includes players Cornelius Bennett, Alabama, 1983-86; Tom Curtis, Michigan, 1967-69; Anthony Davis, Southern California, 1972-74; Keith Dorney, Penn State, 1975-78; Jim Houston, Ohio State, 1957-59; John Huarte, Notre Dame, 1962-64; Roosevelt Leaks, Texas, 1972-74 ; Mark May, Pittsburgh, 1977-80; Joe Washington, Oklahoma, 1972-75; Paul Wiggin, Stanford, 1954-56; David Williams, 1983-85, and coach Don Nehlen.

The College Football Hall of Fame is located in South Bend, Indiana. To be eligible for selection, a coach becomes eligible three years after >retirement or immediately following retirement provided the coach is at least 70 years of age. He must have also have been a head coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning >percentage. Dye will be enshrined at the College Football Hall of Fame in August, 2006.