Road To Recovery: 6 Counties To Get Federal Disaster Assistance

Federal disaster aid soon will be available to residents in several tornado-damaged counties in Alabama.

Governor Riley said President Bush has granted the state's request for a federal disaster declaration for six counties - They are: Coffee, Wilcox, Dale, Henry, Dallas and Montgomery. Riley and the state Emergency Management Agency submitted the paperwork yesterday (Monday). The declaration mean citizens and businesses can begin applying for assistance to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and storm-related expenses. The aid will come from the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Low-interest loans also will be offered through the U-S Small Business Administration to cover other losses not fully insured.

In a related matter - Alabama Congressman Artur Davis announced that FEMA will open a Disaster Recovery Center today at 3 p-m in Camden at 7533 Highway 28 West. Individuals in the six counties who suffered damage on March first can call 1-800-621-FEMA to apply for assistance. The number for the hearing and speech impaired is 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

Courtesy: Alabama Associated Press