Qualifying Over For Montgomery City Elections

We now know for sure who wants to lead the city of Montgomery.

Tuesday, was the final day for qualifying at the city election office.

Here's a look at the field for the field for mayor. Incumbent Mayor Bobby Bright is looking for a third term, businessmen Jon Dow and Scott Simmons also qualified for the mayor's race and community activist William Boyd rounds out the list.

It's not only the mayoral candidates gearing up for their campaigns. A number of city council districts are also contested this year. In District 3, for example, incumbent Janet May will face off against Willie Knight and former councilman Tracy Larkin. District 4 is a three-man race between incumbent James Nuckles, David Burkette and James Brown, Jr. In District 5, incumbent C.C. Calhoun will run against former city councilman Terrance Dawson and newcomer Wilhemina Harris. District 7 is the only other contested race, between incumbent Martha Roby and Addell Sankey.

There are several people running unopposed this year: Jim Spear in District 1, Willie Cook in District 6, Glen Pruitt in District 8, Charles Jinright in District 9, and Charles Smith in District 2, that after incumbent Tim Head dropped out of the race.